University and Specialty Accreditation

Wichita State University has held regional accreditation since 1927 from the Higher Learning Commission. The university will undergo its next comprehensive evaluation during the 2026-2027 academic year. Additionally, several WSU programs hold specialty accreditation. The accreditation status of those programs can be found online ( or in information published by the accredited programs. In some cases regional and specialty accreditation status is required by some programs for its graduates to sit for certification examinations and/or to obtain a license and/or a registration. Regional accreditation by The Higher Learning Commission does not constitute specialty accreditation for individual programs.

Academic Programs at Wichita State University Are Accredited by or Hold Membership in the Following Associations

  • ABET,
  • Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant
  • American Association of State Colleges and Universities
  • American Chemical Society
  • American Dental Educators’ Association
  • American Psychological Association
  • Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities
  • Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business — Business and Accounting
  • Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education 
  • Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education
  • Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education
  • Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association
  • Commission on Sport Management Accreditation
  • Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation
  • Council on Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology: American Speech-Language Hearing Association
  • Council on Social Work Education
  • Human Factors and Ergonomics Society
  • Kansas State Board of Nursing
  • Kansas State Department of Education
  • National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences
  • National Association of Schools of Art & Design 
  • National Association of School Psychologists
  • National Association of Schools of Dance
  • National Association of Schools of Music
  • National Association of Schools of Public Affairs & Administration
  • The Higher Learning Commission1